Agent #2 – So much for the “New York Agents Only” rule

So here I am, all of two agents in, and already I’m ignoring my “Let’s start by focusing on New York agents only” rule. My lovely friend Jan Glazier wrote and told me that she knew a literary agent and would be happy to contact her on my behalf. When she told me who it was, I was astonished because this particular agent is on my A List. Everything I’ve read about approaching literary agents is that a personal referral beats a cold calling query letter every time. So the new rule is: “Focus on New York agents…unless some kind and well-connected friend offers to refer you to an agent they know in which case who cares if they live on the dark side of Mars?”

This agent – now aka Agent #2 – has an impressive list of high quality projects to her credit so an ‘in’ with her is like gold to aspiring authors like me. Even though the agent really doesn’t know me from a slice of Black Bottom Pie, it’s worth a shot. So a big thank you to Jan!

(Side bar: Black Bottom Pie is a strangely-named desert that popped up a lot in the 20s and 30s era restaurant menus I researched. It’s made with chocolate and run so really, how bad could it be?)

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Agent #2 – So much for the “New York Agents Only” rule

  1. Linda Morgan says:

    One step forward🙂

  2. The Real Marty says:

    Way to Go Marty. Slow and steady may win the race but a good game is a fast game, right? We want the first edition NZ copy signed by the author!!!!

Leave a Reply

