Literary agent #6 – Reaching for the big fish

Agent #6 is another New York based agent who caught my eye because she is interested in hearing from authors of historical fiction. Plus I liked her face. Hey, stop laughing. It’s important! Well…okay…you can laugh…a little. But when I researched the authors that this agency represents, I really sat up and paid attention. Among their impressive author list are the likes of David Baldacci and Harlan Coben. To be honest, my very first thought was, ‘Wow, they represent Baldacci and Coben! Baldacci has had 20 NY Times bestsellers most of them debut at #1 – why would they care about lil ol’ me?’ But then I thought about some of the people I’ve written about in my book – Tallulah Bankhead, Louella Parsons, Errol Flynn, George Cukor – would any of them have called themselves ‘lil ol’ me’?? HELL NO!

This particular agent asks for a one-page query email and says that you can copy and paste in your first chapter if you want. Well, I want and I can so I have.

………………….Five Seconds Later Update: Got an auto-response email right back saying, “Thank you for your query. Due to the large number of submissions I receive every day, I am unfortunately unable to respond personally to them all. If I am interested in reading your work, I will respond within three weeks. If you do not hear from me in that time, then I have decided I’m not the right agent for your work – no “rejection” letter will be sent.

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

