Update agent #4 – Don’t Never Assume Nuthin’

Here’s a handy life lesson: “Never assume.” Agent #4 was the one who I very nearly didn’t bother with because she listed one of her interests as “historical and biblical fiction” and I assumed that she’d be more into stories about gladiators and Trojan wars than my wanna be movie stars and conniving movie moguls. WRONG!

I just got back a very nicely-worded email from her (personal assistant) saying they “would be happy to take a look“. They want me to send them some sample chapters so I’m sending them the first four which introduces the three main characters. They also asked for a synopsis of all nine novels. Fortunately I’ve outlined them all in detail and have written up a synopsis so I’m good to go.

A word about writing a synopsis: IT’S REALLY HARD! You’d think that after having written a novel – or a detailed outline of nine novels – that to write a summary which gives all the salient details would be a piece of double fudge chocolate cake with lemon icing and a huge dollop of Devonshire clotted cream. Nuh-uh! IT’S REALLY HARD! So I’m awfully glad that I put the effort in a couple of months ago because now that somebody has actually asked for it, I’m not freaking out like a crazy person running around the room screaming, “How do I do this? What’s the format? How long is too long? How much is too much? Which tense do I write it in?” (FYI, it turns out you write synopses in the present tense so that it feels more immediate to the reader. So now you know.)

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

