Agent #9 – Anything Smart With A Good Sense Of Humor

In Jeff Herman’s guide to literary agents, agent #9 lists her mix of business as Fiction–40% / Non-fiction–60%. <insert wincing grimace here> That doesn’t bode well for someone trying to push fiction in her face. But then she goes on to say she’s interested in “History that comes alive, anything smart with a good sense of humor.

All the books I’ve read giving advice to aspiring authors pretty much say the same thing: Write the book you want to read, and that’s what I set out to do. There’s nothing I love more than reading a novel that plops you down into the middle of a certain time and place in a way that gives you a feel for what it was like to live then and there. I hope that I’ve done that with this novel of mine…and the eight more to follow…and I like to think I’ve been smart about it and written with a good sense of humor. After all, I am a Capricorn and one of our better-known traits is a strong, wry sense of humor. Mind you, it’s one thing to snap off a witty line in an email to someone you’ve known for 25 years but it’s another to keep that up over 400 pages (let alone nine books.) I guess I’m not really the one to judge best if I’ve accomplished exactly what I set out to do. That’s what Customer Reviews on Amazon are for. But at the very least it was my aim.

Unfortunately Agent #9 says she only responds to queries for projects she’s interested in so I’m not sure how long I’m supposed to wait until I throw a bucket of water on my Eternal Flame of Hope. But on the plus side, she asks for queries to include a synopsis and the first five pages of my manuscript. So that gives me several chances to impress her before I reach for the bucket. How long should I give her? A month? 10 weeks? Until December 2031?

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Agent #9 – Anything Smart With A Good Sense Of Humor

  1. Linda Mansouria says:

    As long as it takes…….I guess!

Leave a Reply

