Update Agent #10 – An Encouraging Knockback

I just heard back from agent #10 – she was the one who appreciated good manners. Apparently she follows her own instructions. I just heard back from her…it was a “no” but she was encouraging in the way she knocked me back. She said:

Thank you for thinking of me with your query.  While this sounds like a strong project, I’m afraid it doesn’t strike me as a likely fit with me and my particular editorial contacts.  I wish you well in finding the right agent for your work.”

I’d like to think that she doesn’t tell everyone “this sounds like a strong project.” I’d imagine that a whole bunch of woeful projects come across her desk; surely Ms. Manners doesn’t tell all of them “this sounds like a strong project”…? Maybe she does but I’m choosing to believe she doesn’t. Instead I’m choosing to take it as a sign that the initial gut reaction I had when I originally conceived this idea was on target and that the aim is to connect with the right sort of agent. Preferably one who appreciates good manners.

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update Agent #10 – An Encouraging Knockback

  1. Diane Clark says:

    Can’t tell you how much we are enjoying this blog, especially me because I have never been through this process and don’t think I could handle it. You’re a role model!

    xox, Diane

Leave a Reply

