Agent #11 – A Fellow Blogger

Agent #11 is someone I like and admire a lot. I first came across her via her blog. Quite a few literary agents have blogs these days but hers is the one I find myself going back to more often than the others. She has a delightfully skewed slant on the ways of the world that makes me chuckle and it strikes me that we have a similar sense of humor. If that’s true, then there’s a higher chance that she’ll ‘get’ me and, more importantly, get my work. At this stage in the game, it’s all about working the numbers, baby!

Although she’s in New York, she wasn’t on my A List. That’s because she doesn’t specifically list “historicals” as being one of her primary areas of interest. But I like and admire her so much I would love it if she’d even just consider taking me on. And then I read on her website: “When in doubt, query me. I’d rather see something that’s not right for me than miss something fabulous.” She also says that she’s looking for “good stories” and, quite frankly, I think what I’m offering is a damn good story and, if I may be so bold, just a little bit fabulous too. She asks for a query to include the first three to five pages so I included four, crossed my fingers and hit ‘Send.’

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Agent #11 – A Fellow Blogger

  1. Linda Mansouria says:

    Sounds like a match made in heaven! Good luck. I hope she responds.

  2. Philosophy Club Co-Pres says:

    Oooo. I really like this one! 😉

Leave a Reply

