Agents #6 and #9 – Passed The Sell By Date

I was just sitting here reviewing the agents I’ve approached but not heard back from and found a couple who have passed their Sell By date.

The auto-response I got back from Agent #6 – which I blogged under “Reaching For The Big Fish” — said that if she’s interested I’d hear back from her inside three weeks.

The website of Agent #9 – which I blogged under “Anything Smart With A Good Sense Of Humor” – says that they read every query but only respond to those we are interested in pursuing.

I approached both of those agents on January 10th and it’s now February 10th so I think I’m pretty safe to kiss both those people bub-bye and thanks for a whole pile o’ nuthin’.

So that means I currently have five queries out there in the literary ethers and my plan is to always have at least six. And of course I now have my new-and-improved query letter ready to cut, paste and slay ’em with. I think this new version is a huge improvement over the last version so it’ll be interesting to see if it garners better responses.

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Agents #6 and #9 – Passed The Sell By Date

  1. Chezzie says:

    Every step you take is one step closer to your end goal so l will be interested to see how the new letter goes! Good luck………………

Leave a Reply

