Seventh Heaven

I currently have six queries out there in Literaryland and I ain’t heard nothin’ back from nobody in ages. I guess I really did hit the most conscientious agents first because I got used to hearing back from them within 48 hours.  Here’s where I stand at the moment:

– Agent #4..Queried on Jan. 4th. Came back asking for a synopsis of the whole nine books which I sent a couple of days later.
– Agent #12…Only accepts snail mail queries (quite a rarity) which I sent off on Jan. 17th
– Agent #13…Queried on Jan. 18th
– Agent #15…Queried on Jan. 11th. It bounced back so I sent it again and it bounced back again. So I sent an email directly to the agent (a big no-no!)and asked her if I could submit my query directly to her. I didn’t hear back from her so I took that as a no. Today (Feb. 24th) wondered if the problem with the query address had now been fixed and what would happen if I re-re-sent my original query…? So I did. It hasn’t bounced back now I’m hard at work pretending I never sent any of the first three ones.
– Agent #16…was the one here in Los Angeles who asked to see the first 50 pages of my manuscript which I sent him on February 13th.
– Agent #17…Sent query Feb. 18th but it also had the 1st 50 pages attached so let’s give them a chance to read the whole thing.

So that makes 5 days since I sent out my most recent query and 47 days since I replied to my first request for additional material. No wonder I’m feeling antsy. Perhaps I ought to up my “number of queries out there in Literaryland” from 6 to 7…after all, seven is a more magical number…the 7 seas, 7 continents, 7  wonders of the ancient world, 7 hills of Rome, 7 days in a week, Shakespeare’s 7 ages of man, 7 colors of the rainbow, 7 heavenly virtues & 7 deadly sins, Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs…okay so maybe that last one is pushing it but I think I’ve just managed to convince myself (read: rationalize my antsy-pantsiness (is that a word?)) that I need to have one more query out there in order to bring my vibe in alignment with what are clearly the natural ways of the world. In addition to which 7 is the lowest number that cannot be represented as the sum of the squares of three integers and if that isn’t enough to convince you, then one or more of your 7 chakras must be completely closed down. Oh! Another 7!

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seventh Heaven

  1. Diane Clark says:

    And the supposed “Seven Hills of San Francisco” refer to: Telegraph Hill, Nob Hill, Russian Hill, Rincon Hill, Mount Sutro, Twin Peaks and Mount Davidson. The late Betty Bethards, a widely known psychic, believed that life runs in 7 year cycles. Oh, and remember the world was created in 7 days (unless one is more Darwinian in thought, and/or believes in the Big Bang theory). Ah you’ll probably get lots of comments on this catchy delightful ode to “7s”. Sounds like a good idea though…there is something magical about them.

Leave a Reply

