Rats! Bats! And Double Drats!

I keep a log of the agents I’ve approached, when I queried them, when I blogged about them, when I heard back from them, and what they said. For easy reference, I highlight the ones I haven’t heard back from yet so at a quick glance I can see how many and who are still out there in the ethers.

Yesterday I was reviewing this log and Agent #4 caught my eye. I queried her on January 4th and on the 5th I heard back from her. She asked for the synopsis of all 9 of the novels I have planned out for this series I’m writing as well as the first few chapters. I couldn’t help but be excited–one of the agents on the A List of my A List had shown great interest. So I emailed everything she asked for.

That was January 6th and it was now the end of March and I wondered if I would be out of line sending her a quick email going, “Uh…helloo-oo-oo..?” I was still thinking it over when an email from her popped up in my in-box today. It said:

Dear Martin,
Thank you for sharing your work with me–and for your patience in waiting to hear back. This is a great concept—I enjoyed reading this, and made sure that several others in the office saw your work—but I’m afraid that we’ve concluded that this is not quite right for us. Still, I hope you will continue writing and sending out your work. If you haven’t done so already, you may wish to look at The Jeff Herman Guide to Editors, Publishers, and Literary Agents – there, you should be able to find someone who’s a better fit for your work. Best of luck with this and future projects. All best wishes.

<insert deep sigh here>

So close! SO CLOSE! Oh well, at least she liked the idea. Actually she better than just ‘liked’ it – she thought it was ‘great’. And that’s encouraging. Actually it’s two-parts encouraging, one-part disappointing and one-part frustrating because I happen to agree with her: I think my central concept IS great. I think it’s commercial and has the potential for mass appeal and–May I be brutally frank?–I’m surprised more agents haven’t jumped all over it. So, it was terrific to hear from someone who agreed with me! Smart lady! And then she said ‘No.’

I guess it’s just a matter of connecting at the right time with the right agent on the right day with the right approach. Ahhhh! So that’s all I need to do! Well, now I have that figured out, the rest of it should be easy-peasy-as-can-beasy. After all, opportunity won’t answer the door until you’ve knocked.

I wonder if this is how Avon ladies feel?

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rats! Bats! And Double Drats!

  1. Chezzie says:

    Hi Marty
    That is exactly how the Avon lady feels along with everyone else who is trying to sell something new. Take a company l happen to know something about. For the last 3 years they have been trying to get Dealer Groups onto the new wrap platform that they designed and built, really believing that it was best of breed on the market. It was tough for them trying to keep afloat and while they have had a few smaller groups sign up there was no one substantial in the mix. Slowly things started stirring on the market, people started to take a real interest in what they were offering and then yesterday they made a massive announcement to the ASX and the financial industry. They had just signed a party who are going to be bringing $770,000,000 onto their platform! Finally after three years of struggles- huge success!!!!! It just goes to prove that if you believe you have something to offer you keep pushing and pushing and pushing until you find the person/company, whoever it is that will help you get there. How do l know so much about this company you ask, l was one of the three people who started it…………………………(and even though l am now moving onto a new challenge l learnt a hell of a lesson) – NEVER GIVE UP ON YOUR DREAMS!!!!!

Leave a Reply

