Agent #25 – Seven Heads and Ten Horns

Okay, so moving on from this week’s disappointment – see “Rats! Bats! And Double Drats!” – I’ve now hit the quarter century with Agent #25.

This agent wasn’t on my original list – which means that there wasn’t anything in the Jeff Herman guide to indicate that she’d give a flying fruit bat about my project – but I came across her when I was…oh Lord knows how I found her. You know what it’s like, you go to the internet to see what the temperature is going to be tomorrow and before you know it, you’re watching three legged kittens play soccer on YouTube which leads to an interesting article about how the Greeks are blaming some monastery for their financial collapse and then suddenly you’re on Wikipedia reading about how the downfall of the Whore of Babylon is prophesied to take place in the hands of the beast with seven heads and ten horns. (Although it isn’t spelled out exactly how she ended up at a Tea Party event…)

At any rate, the point is, when I eventually discovered the website for this agency, the specific agent I’ve queried says “I respond to well researched and original historicals” so naturally my eyebrows raised themselves a couple of inches. In all my Amazon meanderings, I haven’t been able to find anything even close to the plot of my book so I’d say that qualifies me as ‘original.’ And for the first year of planning my novel, I did nothing but read book after book on old Hollywood and take reams upon reams of notes and ideas, so surely that qualifies me as ‘well-researched.’

Hmmm…perhaps I ought to have mentioned that in my query letter…but she also says, “E-mailed queries are welcome with a brief description of the project and yourself.” She doesn’t put the word ‘brief’ in bold or capital letters but you just know that’s what she wants. BRIEF! BRIEF! BRIEF!

So I’ve sent the query off to her on a wing and a prayer because if she takes the time to read this blog and it turns out that she really IS a member of the Tea Party I’m going to be more embarrassed than the Whore of Babylon on Abstinence Day at that Greek monastery.

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

