Agent #35 – Especially in an Historical Context

…aaaand we’re back after a break in Australia during which I ate everything in sight, caught up with more than three dozen people in less than two weeks for which I am now paying with hideous jetlag. Tonight’s goal: fall asleep before 2am. (To be honest, though, part of the reason I was up until 3am this morning was due to the fact that I could not put-down-until-I-finished “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett – hands down the best book I’ve read this year.)

While I was away I got a very lovely ‘Get lost’ from agent #33 who wrote back and said, “Thank you for sharing your material with me. While I appreciate the creativity and dedication put into your work, I do not believe I am the right agent for this project. I wish you the best of luck and continued inspiration.” It was obviously a form letter but a nicely-worded one nonetheless.

So next on my list is #35 — oh my, we’re certainly getting up there, aren’t we? — who I came across in a writers/agents blog I often read. She wasn’t on my original list of Agents To Be Stalked Like Jack The Ripper’s Hookers but what caught my eye about her is she said that, in fiction, she “is simply interested in great storytelling, especially in an historical context.” PING! My “emerging writer” flag shot up and I was leaping on her website faster than you could say PLEASE DEAR GOD I NEED SLEEP. I found that her list includes nationally prominent writers, prize-winning historians, and New York Times bestselling authors, not the least of which was Tom Clancy who was selling insurance when she received his unsolicited manuscript for The Hunt for Red October at the Naval Institute Press where this agent was working at the time as an acquisitions editor. (Seriously? The U.S. Naval Institute has their own publishing company…? Who knew?)

I figured this agent might be the gal for me so I clicked on ‘Submissions’ on the agency’s website and filled out their form (no emails) before the temptation to fall asleep mid-typing overtook me. Next on my To Do List: scramble around our bathroom cupboard like a rabid raccoon in search of any stray bottles of Tylenol PM. Because if I don’t get any sleep tonight I just might…zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Agent #35 – Especially in an Historical Context

  1. Bill Margiotta says:

    Welcome home! I missed the updates! I hope you had a wonderful time and I look forward to seeing you this summer! By the way I LOVED “The Help”,too. One of the best I read this past year.

Leave a Reply

