Agent #39 – Whoever You Are and Whatever You Do

I’ve just submitted my 39th query (plus first three chapters) to an agent who is with a company that…um…well, you see, what they do is…ahhh, that is to say, they’re a company that…um…manages…oh crap. I give up. I really don’t know what they do.

Their website says their Entertainment Division “…develops and represents vertigrated content for all forms of media distribution…” And if you can translate that into English, please email me at what_the_hell@gobbleygook.com

What I think they do (and the operative word here is ‘think‘) is package together ideas and sell them to networks, production houses, cable providers etc. What caught my eye is that they do have a literary department which has been representing authors in all genres for 35 years. They represent Shelby Foote the most preeminent U.S. Civil War historian which is damned impressive. It was impressive enough to get me thinking about the cinematic aspect of my story. From the early stages of writing this series of books, it struck me how well it would lend itself to television, specifically the “major mini series” format, a la “Band of Brothers” or “Tales of the City”.

From what I can gather, this multi-armed company (they also have a Speakers dept, a Sports Management dept, among others) isn’t just focused on “sell that book!” but perhaps casts its view more widely and might be in a position to vertigrate the content of my series for all forms of media distribution. Hell I’d be happy with just one media distributor. At this point I’d be happy if they could tell me if ‘vertigrate’ is even an actual word.

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

