Agent #41 – Cooling in the Catskills

When I hear the word ‘Catskills’ I think of 1940s and 1950s Jewish stand-up comedians hauling out nuggets like “Take my wife…please!” as though nobody had heard that line before. (Which, in 1948, maybe nobody had. Lucky them.) The Catskills is an area in upstate New York where Manhattanites (often Jewish) would go to escape the oppressive heat of New York summers. Families would often go up there for a few weeks and the poor Dads would only join them on the weekends after having suffered a week of sweating through the hideous August humidity.

The reason why I bring all this up is that the latest agent I’ve queried is from a town just south of the Catskills on the 87 which takes you from NYC to cool relief in the summers. Among her interests she said that she loves to go hiking in the Adirondacks and that she’s “an aspiring 46er.” I guess that’s an Adirondack thing. Being a California boy, I don’t really know what it means so I’m guessing there are 46 hikeable peaks in the Adirondacks and if you’re a 46er, it means you’ve topped all of them. She’s more than halfway through her list which sounds pretty impressive to me.

I wondered if California has a similar thing. Or if we do, maybe it’s about the beaches. Aspiring to walk along every Californian beach sounds more my style so I just googled “How many beaches are there in California?” and found this website site. Yeah well, I lost count at over 100–the list is probably well over 200. In that case: fuh-get it! Maybe I’ll just go down to Bookstar in Studio City (I love browsing there because it used to be a cinema back when cinemas really were cinemas…in other words the time period I’m writing about) and find myself a copy of “Beaches” instead. Or maybe I could just sit by our pool and take up a new mantra: “Take my novel…please!”

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Literary agents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Agent #41 – Cooling in the Catskills

  1. MC says:

    I love your blog. I only got up to agent ten in my own search. My conclusion: you have to know someone who knows someone. So my someone who knows someone said my novel has to be sassier. I am revising this albatross! If I ever finish, I will give it to that someone who knows someone.

    Meanwhile I think your blog is a book.

    My website is so out of date. I need to find someone who knows flash and is cheap.

Leave a Reply

