When You Are A Writer, You’re Never Alone.

"The Garden on Sunset" by Martin Turnbull

"The Garden on Sunset" by Martin Turnbull

My first novel – “The Garden on Sunset” – has been out now for a couple of weeks and I’ve been very happy with the response. People seem to be enjoying it, and many of them have paid me the highest compliment a reader could pay a writer: “I cannot wait for Book Two!”

However, there have been a couple of surprises.

A few people have made the comment to me that they don’t have what it takes to be a novelist because it’s such a lonely pursuit. “You’re always by yourself,” one person said. I was taken aback by that remark, surprised that anyone would see what I’ve been doing for the past five years in that way.

From the outside looking in, I guess it does seem like it’s just me sitting there, on the bed, tapping away at the laptop like a trained monkey. But from the inside looking out, it’s quite the opposite.

I’ve now spent years hanging out with my three main characters—Marcus, Kathryn, and Gwendolyn—as they’ve set about trying to forge their own paths in a newly-talking Hollywood that’s shifting under their feet. I was right beside Gwendolyn when she climbed three stories to dance on a human billboard. I wanted to reach out for Kathryn when she got caught in the Long Beach earthquake. And I sat down with Marcus when he went to his first speakeasy, the one with all the hammers and a stage the size of a flattened beachball.

Speakin' easy in a speakeasy.

Speakin' easy in a speakeasy.

I’ve spent time, too, with a whole host of other characters that populate “The Garden on Sunset.” And not just the famous ones like Alla Nazimova, George Cukor, Joan Crawford, and Ginger Rogers. But others, like Chuck the bartender at the Cocoanut Grove, the waiter in black face at the Zulu Hut, and Anderson McCrae from the casting department at RKO.

To my mind, I’ve spent the last five years with so many Charlestoning flappers, wannabe actresses, undiscovered screenwriters, ambitious directors, gamblers, boozers, typists, and Western Union telegram delivery boys, that I’ve never—not once—noticed it was just me in a darkened room with the door closed, my face lit by the screen of my laptop, the only sound being that of my fingers tapping away at the keyboard.

Always by myself? Are you nuts???

By the same token, I’ve also been surprised when people have come up to me, or mentioned in an email, how much they love Gwendolyn, or admire Kathryn, or want to hug Marcus. What?! I’ve thought. You know who Gwendolyn is? You’ve met Kathryn? You’ve talked to Marcus? For these same five years, it’s felt like me, Marcus, Kathryn, and Gwendolyn have formed this secret society, a private club that only the four of us know about, having furtive adventures unseen and unnoticed by a world whose attention is focused elsewhere.

Now that the book is out, it’s somewhat disconcerting—in a good way—to be reminded that people have met my three BFFs. They know what they’re like, what they’re good at, what they need help with and who they can turn to in times of need. This feeling will pass as more people discover and read the book, and as each of the new installments follow. But, for now, it feels like the rest of the neighborhood kids have discovered our clandestine tree house and they want in, too.

Oh? You do? Really? So, come on in, I say.

Everyone is welcome in the Garden of Allah tree house.

There's lots of room in the Garden of Allah tree house.

Everybody is welcome. Nobody is alone.

About martinturnbull

The Hollywood's Garden of Allah novels blog is by Martin Turnbull, a Los Angeles based historical fiction author writing about the golden era of Hollywood in his series of novels set at the Garden of Allah Hotel, which stood on Sunset Blvd from 1927 to 1959. Check him out at www.martinturnbull.com and Facebook: "gardenofallahnovels"
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When You Are A Writer, You’re Never Alone.

  1. Gosh, I guess my head is so populated by characters telling their stories that I’m never alone. Besides, I have my hubby, my amazing kids, and my dog so…
    Jaye turned me on to your work. She’s a terrific publicist!

  2. Jaye says:

    What a terrific post! I’m nodding my head and laughing.

    I love that idea of the secret clubhouse.

  3. Jo says:

    …you’re never alone.” Not so true for a poet. A poet is alone until someone talks to him/her about a poem. People–mostly friends and family (it’s poetry, after all)–buy a book, but then most of them never comment on the poems, don’t say, “This one works for me, this one doesn’t,” etc. I have been keeping up with you since last summer, but got behind before the holidays. I enjoyed reading about your adventures with your editor as I am currently editing 2 books and wonder what my clients are really thinking when I say “delete,” “move,” change his name”…. I have finally read your first chapter, and you are a “marketeer,” leaving us with a cliff hanger like that! Congratulations.

    • You’re quite right, Jo. I hadn’t thought about how it is for poets. That is a much more solitary pursuit. My editor told me she learned a lot about the post-editing process from me (or rather my blog) and how her work is received. As this was the first time I’d be professionally edited, it was a whole new path to travel down, a little overwhelming at times, always interesting, and ultimately very rewarding. Thanks for reading my chapter, too. I didn’t post it with the intention of leaving readers with a cliffhanger, there’s nothing like a cliffhanger to leave people wanting more…

Leave a Reply

